Office of the General Counsel

Staff


Educational Programs Unit

Phone: 850-245-0442

The Educational Programs Unit is charged with the responsibility of providing general legal assistance to all program units of the Department, from pre-kindergarten to college, in order to ensure that agency action complies with the state’s Education Code, the Florida Constitution, and the many federal laws and grants. The unit assists with implementing the state’s educational initiatives such as differentiated accountability, drop-out prevention, and various choice options, including virtual programs, charter schools and private schools that accept students with McKay scholarships. Educational Programs provides assistance in developing and reviewing policies, rules, and technical assistance papers, conducts hearings and appeals, handles litigation, and responds to complaints filed with the federal Office of Civil Rights.

Judy A. Bone
Deputy General Counsel
Judy.Bone@fldoe.org

Jamie Braun
Assistant General Counsel
Jamie.Braun@fldoe.org

Dave Jordan
Assistant General Counsel
Dave.Jordan@fldoe.org

James Richmond
Assistant General Counsel
James.Richmond@fldoe.org

Lois S. Tepper
Assistant General Counsel
Lois.Tepper@fldoe.org

Diana Harper
Executive/Legal Assistant
Diana.Harper@fldoe.org

Business Operations Unit

850-245-0442

The Business Operations Unit handles all contract reviews and provides significant assistance in contract preparation and negotiation, and preparation of competitive procurements and grant solicitations. Business Operations also handles a wide variety of litigation, including personnel appeals and arbitrations, bid protests, McKay scholarship denials, rule challenges, risk management cases, and challenges over district funding issues. The unit coordinates the preparation of legislative bill analyses and legal review of proposed legislation, and provides training in the area of agency rulemaking. Questions relating to bond finance, education funding, growth management, labor relations, garnishments, general services, technology, and other finance and operations issues are also referred to this unit.

Steven S. Ferst
Deputy General Counsel
Steve.Ferst@fldoe.org

Bonnie Wilmot
Deputy General Counsel
Bonnie.Wilmot@fldoe.org

Jason Borntreger
Assistant General Counsel
Jason.Borntreger@fldoe.org

Riley Landy
Assistant General Counsel
Riley.Landy@fldoe.org

Kristine Azzato
Legal Assistant
Kristine.Azzato@fldoe.org

Professional Practices Services Unit

Phone: 850-245-0443

This section represents the Commissioner of Education in educator licensing proceedings through which teaching or administration certificates may be denied or sanctioned. This section provides advice to investigators, recommends probable cause determinations to the Commissioner, drafts administrative complaints, negotiates settlements, handles informal hearings before the Education Practices Commission and formal hearings at the Division of Administrative Hearings (DOAH), and defends cases on appeal.

Darby Shaw
Deputy General Counsel
Darby.Shaw@fldoe.org

Gavin Dunn
Assistant General Counsel
Gavin.Dunn@fldoe.org

Stacy Sharp
Assistant General Counsel
Stacy.Sharp@fldoe.org

Christina Harrell
Paralegal Specialist
Christie.Harrell@fldoe.org

Brian Pagozalski
Paralegal Specialist
Brian.Pagozalski@fldoe.org

Vocational Rehabilitation/Blind Services Unit

Phone: 850-245-0442

This unit provides legal services to the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation and the Division of Blind Services. These divisions provide vocational rehabilitation services to persons with disabilities that impede their employability. This unit represents the Divisions in administrative hearings and civil litigation and provides guidance in matters including rulemaking, contracts, vendor certification, legal process, legislative proposals, and policy.  The unit also manages the Divisions’ subrogation rights to reimbursement of vocational rehabilitation service expenditures from third-party payments

Brent McNeal
Deputy General Counsel
Brent.Mcneal@fldoe.org

Taylor S. Wolff
Assistant General Counsel
Taylor.Wolff@fldoe.org

Margaret Locke
Legal Assistant - Vocational Rehabilitation/Blind Services
Margaret.Locke@fldoe.org

Tammy Smith
Legal Assistant – Public Records Requests
Tammy.Smith@fldoe.org