Professional Learning Contacts


Pursuant to section 1012.98(6), Florida Statutes, the Florida Department of Education, public postsecondary educational institutions, public school districts, public schools, state education foundations, consortia and other professional organizations work collaboratively to establish a coordinated system of professional development that increases student achievement, enhances classroom instructional strategies that promote rigor and relevance throughout the curriculum, and prepares students for continuing education and the workforce.

To coordinate this work, each school district—including developmental research schools, education consortiums and some private school organizations—has a professional learning director who supervises and guides the professional learning activities for instructional and non-instructional personnel. These directors ensure that local professional learning activities are planned and implemented effectively.

A list of these professional learning directors and their contact information follows.

School Districts

Alachua
Isabel Carter
Director, Professional Development
carterig@gm.sbac.edu
352-955-7650
Baker
David Davis
Executive Director, Teaching & Learning
david.davis@bakerk12.org
904-259-0429
Bay
Lisa Churchwell
Coordinator, Staff Development & Title II
churcld@bay.k12.fl.us
850-767-4266

Bradford
Sherree Alvarez
Coordinator, Teaching & Learning
alvarez.sherree@mybradford.us
904-966-6816
Brevard
Mike Alba
Director, Professional Learning & Development
alba.mike@brevardschools.org
321-633-1000 x240
Broward
Susan Leon-Leigh
Director, Professional Development Standards
susan.leon@browardschools.com 
754-321-5009

Calhoun
Tracie Taylor
Director, Instruction & Curriculum
tracie.taylor@calhounflschools.org
850-674-8734 x232
Charlotte
Laura Blunier
Director, Professional Development
laura.blunier@yourcharlotteschools.net 
941-255-7675 x223
Citrus
Lindy Woythaler
Director, Professional Development
woythalerl@citrus.k12.fl.us
352-726-1931 x2232

Clay
Jamie Iannone
Director, Professional Learning, Leadership Development, ESOL, School Choice & Charter
jamie.iannone@myoneclay.net
904-284-6547
Collier
Laura Mendicino
Director, Professional Learning & Digital Innovation
mendicla@collierschools.com
239-377-0018
Columbia
Hope Jernigan
Director, Instructional Services
jerniganh@columbiak12.com
386-755-8043

DeSoto
Carrie Fuller
Director, Instructional Services
carrie.fuller@destoschools.com
863-494-4222 x1310
Dixie
Buddy Schofield
Director, Elementary & Secondary Education
buddyschofield@dixie.k12.fl.us
352-541-6337
Duval
Paula Renfro
Executive Director, Professional Development
renfrop@duvalschools.org
904-348-7785

Escambia
Brian Alaback
Director, Professional Learning
balaback@escambia.k12.fl.us
850-516-2902
Flagler
Diane Dyer
Executive Director, Teaching & Learning
dyerd@flaglerschools.com
386-437-7526 x3112
Franklin
Rhonda Griffin
Coordinator, Curriculum & Instruction
rgriffin@franklincountyschools.org
850-670-2810

Gadsden
Dr. Ida Walker
Director, Professional Learning
walkeri@gcpsmail.com
850-627-9651
Gilchrist
Darby Allen
Director, Elementary Education
allend@mygcsd.org
352-463-3200
Glades
Janet Harris
Director, Academic Services

Gulf
Lori Price
Assistant Superintendent, Instruction
lprice@gulf.k12.fl.us
850-229-6940
Hamilton
Carol Milton
Coordinator, Professional Development & FDLRS
carol.milton@fdlrsgateway.com
386-792-2877 x12
Hardee
George Kelly
Director, Human Resources
gkelly@hardee.k12.fl.us
863-773-9058

Hendry
James Sealey
Director, Professional Development
sealeyj@hendry-schools.net
863-674-4555
Hernando
Dr. Paula Clark
Supervisor, Federal Programs & Professional Development
clark_p@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 x437
Highlands
Dr. Anne Lindsay
Assistant Superintendent, Elementary Programs
lindsaye@highlands.k12.fl.us
863-471-5569

Hillsborough
Jamalya Jackson
Director, Professional Development
jamalya.jackson@sdhc.k12.fl.us
813-840-7021
Holmes
Pamela Price
Administrator, Curriculum & Assessment
pricep@hdsb.org
850-547-9341 x1238
Indian River
Kelly Baysura
Executive Director, Elementary Education
kelly.baysura@indianriverschools.org
772-564-3067

Jackson
Carolyn Pilcher
Director, Early Childhood, Elementary Education & Professional Development
carolyn.pilcher@jcsb.org
850-482-1200 x222
Jefferson
Marianne Arbulu
Superintendent
marianne.arbulu@
jeffersonschooldistrict.org

850-342-0512
Lafayette
Alissa Hingson
Director, Teaching & Learning Services
ahingson@lcsbmail.net
386-294-4137

Lake
Amy Cockcroft
Director, Professional Learning & Leadership Development
cockcrofta@lake.k12.fl.us
352-742-6908
Lee
Dr. Helen Martin
Assistant Director, Professional Development
helenma@leeschools.net
239-335-1407
Leon
Shane Syfrett
Director, Professional Learning
syfretts@leonschools.net
850-544-7769

Levy
John Lott
Assistant Superintendent
john.lott@levyk12.org
352-486-5231 x2049
Liberty
Gay Lewis
Director, Instruction
gay.lewis@lcsb.org
850-643-2275 x233
Madison
Robin Hill
Coordinator, Curriculum
robin.hill@mcsbfl.us
850-973-1552

Manatee
Kimberly Organek
Executive Director, Curriculum & Professional Learning
organekk@manateeschools.net
941-751-6550 x2155
Marion
Shana Horne
Director, Professional Development
shana.horne@marion.k12.fl.us
352-236-0557
Martin
Dr. Matthew Wlodarczyk
Director, Professional Development
wlodarm@martin.k12.fl.us
772-219-1200 x30337

Miami-Dade
Wandarece Ruan
Administrative Director
wandarece@dadeschools.net
305-995-7616
Monroe
Robin Fry
Director, Professional Development
robin.fry@keysschools.com
305-853-3222
Nassau
Tia Brown
Director, Professional Development
brownti@nassau.k12.fl.us
904-491-9888

Okaloosa
Karen Peek
Program Director, Professional Services
peekk@okaloosaschools.com
850-833-5857
Okeechobee
Andi Canaday
Coordinator, Professional Development
andrea.canaday@okee.k12.fl.us
863-462-5000 x1095
Orange
Susan Abbe
Executive Area Director, Professional Development Services
susan.abbe@ocps.net
407-317-3200

Osceola
Janice Franceschi
Director, Professional Development
janice.franceschi@osceolaschools.net
407-518-2940
Palm Beach
Jenifer L. Kuras
Director, Professional Development
jenifer.kuras@palmbeachschools.org
561-649-6839
Pasco
Lea Mitchell
Director, Professional Development & School Support
lmitchel@pasco.k12.fl.us
813-794-2256

Pinellas
Lou Cerreta
Director, Professional Development
cerretal@pcsb.org
727-588-6086
Polk
Cheryl Joe
Senior Director, Professional Development
cheryl.joe@polk-fl.net
863-647-4270
Putnam
Jennifer Rivera
Director, Teaching & Learning
jrivera@my.putnamschools.org
386-329-0532

Santa Rosa
Mike Thorpe
Director, Professional Development
thorpem@santarosa.k12.fl.us
850-983-5111
Sarasota
Kelly Ellington
Director, Elementary School Curriculum
kelly.ellington@
sarasotacountyschools.net

941-927-9000
Seminole
Shawn Gard-Harrold
Director, Teaching & Learning
shawn_gard-harrold@scps.k12.fl.us
407-320-0186

St. Johns
Cathy Hutchins
Associate Superintendent, Human Resources
cathy.hutchins@stjohns.k12.fl.us
904-547-7601
St. Lucie
Denise Rodriguez
Director, Talent Development
denise.rodriguez@stlucieschools.org
772-429-7524
Sumter
Dana Williams
Director, Professional Learning & Accountability
dana.williams@sumter.k12.fl.us
352-748-1510 x51210

Suwannee
Kelli Williams
Coordinator, Professional Development & K-12 Reading
kelli.williams@suwannee.k12.fl.us
386-647-4621
Taylor
Jan Walker
Director, Personnel
jan.walker@taylor.k12.fl.us
850-838-2500
Union
Barry Sams
Director, Personnel
samsb@union.k12.fl.us
386-496-1300

Volusia
Kati Dyer, Ed.D.
Coordinator, Professional Learning & School Improvement
kbdyer@volusia.k12.fl.us
386-734-7190 x20674
Wakulla
Lori Sandgren
Dean, Instructional Services
lori.sandgren@wcsb.us
850-926-0065
Walton
Kim Stafford
Coordinator, Instructional Support
staffordk@walton.k12.fl.us
850-892-1100 x1363

Washington
Pat Collins
Director, Administrative Services
pat.collins@wcsdschools.com
850-638-6222

Other School Districts

Florida Department of Corrections
Suzanne Greene
Specialist, Teacher Certification, Research & Training
Suzanne.Greene@fdc.myflorida.com
850-717-3173
Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
Randi Mitchell
Coordinator, Professional Development
mitchellr@fsdbk12.org
904-827-2255
Florida Virtual School
Laura Downes
Director, Staff Development
ldownes@flvs.net
727-644-6874

University Schools

Florida A&M University School
Patricia West
Assistant Superintendent
patricia.west@famu.edu
850-412-5930
Florida Atlantic University Schools
Sherry Bees
Principal/Director
sbees@fau.edu
561-297-0638
Florida State University School
Suzanne Wilkinson
Director, Research & Teacher Education
swilkinson@fsu.edu
850-245-3703

University of Florida University School
Christy Gabbard
Director, Program Development & Outreach
cgabbard@pky.ufl.edu
352-392-1554 x280

Regional Educational Consortiums

Heartland Educational Consortium
Donna Garcia
Executive Director
donna.garcia@heartlanded.org
863-531-0444 x221
North East Florida Educational Consortium
Sandy Lewis
Specialist, Program Development & Training
lewisk@nefec.org
386-329-4885
Panhandle Area Educational Consortium
Dr. Maria Pouncey
Administrator, Instructional Services
maria.pouncey@paec.org
850-638-6131 x2266

Organizations Serving Private Schools

Association of Christian Schools International
Dr. Barry Morris
Officer, Master Inservice & PEC
bmorris@wmcarey.edu
601-467-2632
https://www.acsi.org/region/floridacaribbean
Association of Independent Schools of Florida
Al Glicksberg
Coordinator, Certification & Inservice
alglicksberg@rivieraschools.com
828-255-1733
www.aisfl.com
Center for the Advancement of Jewish Education
Audrey Maman
Program Manager, School Markets
audreymaman@caje-miami.org
305-576-0307
www.caje-miami.org/

Christian Schools of Florida
Betsy Wilson
Vice President, Teacher Certification & PEC
bwilson@orangewood.org
352-601-3880
www.csfla.org
Florida Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
Dr. Howard Burke
Executive Director
dochgb@aol.com
229-777-7708
www.faccs.org
Florida Catholic Conference
James Herzog
Associate Director, Education
jherzog@flaccb.org
850-205-6823
www.flaccb.org

Florida Council of Independent Schools
Keara Danger
Director, Business & Operations
kdanger@fcis.org
813-287-8820
www.fcis.org
Florida League of Christian Schools
Michael Burroughs
Executive Director
mburroughs@flocs.org
863-683-5726 x251
www.FLOCS.org
Lutheran Florida-Georgia District
Mark Brink
Executive Director
mbrink@flgadistrict.org
407-857-5556 x3
www.flgadistrict.org

Organizations Serving Charter Schools

Florida Consortium of Public Charter Schools
Rebecca Katz
Director, Operations
r.katz@floridacharterschools.org
954-463-9595
www.floridacharterschools.org