Governor Rick Scott Recognizes Three Educators with the Governor’s Shine Award


March 14, 2017

Governor's Press Office

Governor Rick Scott Recognizes Three Educators with the Governor’s Shine Award

Tallahassee, Fla. – Today, during a meeting of the Florida Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized three outstanding educators with the Governor’s Shine Award. The Shine Award is presented to teachers and administrators in Florida who make significant contributions to the field of education. The educators honored today were recognized for their commitment to student success and to furthering their professional skills.

Governor Rick Scott said, “I am proud to present these three educators with the Shine Award today. Every day, Florida’s teachers go above and beyond to educate Florida’s students so they are prepared for higher education and careers. I applaud these educators for their dedication to ensuring the success of Florida’s future leaders.”

The following educators were presented with the Governor’s Shine Awards:

Demetria Clemons, Leon County – Clemons is principal of Sealey Elementary School in Tallahassee. Clemons is in her first year as a member of the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy, and in 2013 Clemons was recognized as Leon County School’s Joe Glick Administrator of the Year.

Lukas Hefty, Pinellas County – Hefty has been an educator for 11 years and is currently the Engineering Program Coordinator at Douglas L. Jamerson Elementary School in St. Petersburg. In January 2017, he was honored by the Milken Family Foundation for his work in developing the school’s nationally recognized STEM curriculum.

Brandon Wright, Hernando County – Wright teaches Advanced Placement (AP) Micro/Macroeconomics, AP U.S. Government, International Baccalaureate Economics and Economics with Financial Literacy at F. W. Springstead High School in Brooksville. He is the 2016 Hernando County District Teacher of the Year.

Read More News...