Governor Rick Scott Recognizes Eight Educators with the Governor’s Shine Award


December 6, 2016

Governor’s Press Office

Governor Rick Scott Recognizes Eight Educators with the Governor’s Shine Award

Tallahassee, Fla., – Today, during a meeting of Florida’s Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized eight outstanding educators with the Governor’s Shine Award. The Shine Award is presented to teachers and administrators in Florida who make significant contributions to the field of education. All recipients are members of the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy, a collaboration between the Florida Department of Education, the University of Washington’s Center for Educational Leadership, Council for Educational Change and is presented by State Farm. The year-long course of study provides job-embedded and research-based activities for district-nominated Florida principals, principal supervisors and education leaders. 

Governor Rick Scott said, “I am proud to present these eight educators with the Governor’s Shine Award today. The Shine Award is presented to outstanding teachers like these who go above and beyond in the classroom to educate Florida’s future leaders. I applaud these educators for continuing their professional development with this demanding program and preparing students for Florida’s workforce.”

The following educators were awarded the Governor’s Shine Award:

Natasha Drake, Nassau County – Drake is the Principal at Yulee High School. She was the 2002 Nassau County Teacher of the Year and is a National Board Certified Teacher.

Jeff Morgenstein, Pasco County – Morgenstein is the Assistant Principal for International Baccalaureate (IB) at Land O’Lakes High School. He serves as a National Educator Program Teacher Residency Facilitator.     

Jason Odom, Florida Virtual School – Odom is the Principal of the Florida Virtual School, where he was a nominee for the 2014-15 International Society of Technology Education Outstanding Leader Award.

Demetrius Revelas, Charlotte County – Revelas is the Principal at Murdock Middle School. In the past two years, over 700 Microsoft certifications have been earned by students at the school. He is the recipient of the National After School Association “My Principal Matters” Award.  

Wilbern Simpson, Florida Virtual School – Simpson is the Assistant Principal at the Full Time High School of Florida Virtual School, where he has implemented an intervention program for at-risk students enrolled in virtual education.

Rebecca Smith, Nassau County – Smith is the Principal at Southside Elementary School and was recently a presenter at a National Association of Elementary School Principals conference.

Sharon Sacco Slusser, Pasco County – Slusser is the Principal at Cotee River Elementary School. In addition to the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy, she participates in the Eckerd Leadership Institute.

Angie Taillon, Charlotte County – Taillon is the Principal at Neil Armstrong Elementary School. She is currently a trainer for the National Institute of School Leaders.

Read More News...